Report - Annual General Meeting, 17 Jun 2019

Report on the 2019 Annual General Meeting of Dorchester Camera Club

We held our Annual General Meeting on 17 June 2019 - thank you to everyone who attended. You will have all received all the reports in advance and hopefully read them.

There were no proposals for formal discussion and the new committee was approved. The evening ended with an informal question and answer session which gave members a chance to ask questions or raise issues that they did not want minuted - a good discussion ensued.

There were just three committee changes: Helen Jones takes over from Penny Piddock as Chair, having been Vice-Chair for two years, Val Brierley moves from Members' Representative to Vice-Chair and Janine Scola has joined the committee as Members' Representative. The new committee takes effect from the end of the season (16th July 2019). Stephen Lee thanked Penny for all her wonderful work over the last two years - luckily she is staying on the committee as Programme Secretary.

Stephen Jones gave details of the new PhotoEntry system we will be using for all competitions next year. Stephen and Iain Friend have spent the last couple of months working on the best way of using this system and delivering it to the club - thank you to those members who agreed to be 'guinea pigs' when they tested it! Stephen will be sending an email out to all members today explaining more. Please read this and when you get your login ID please do as he suggests and try out the new system before we go live for the the first competition.

There were a couple of constitutional changes. The first related to updates for the competition rules and a change to the Privacy Policy both in relation to the introduction of PhotoEntry. The second removed the post of Webmaster as a separate Committee Post. This post will now be combined with another committee role because it was felt 'experience of how the club works' was important. Stephen Jones has taken on the role of Webmaster in addition to his joint External Competition Secretary position.

Then ... the important part of the evening - the presentation of Trophies by our Club President, Neil Crick. The Portman Trophy for Nature went to Martin Davenport. The President's Trophy for Monochrome was awarded to Paul Clarke. The Rossiter Trophy for Creative work went to Penny Piddock. There was a family battle for the Konica Rose Bowl for the winner of the B section ... Helen and Steve Lord were neck and neck up to the final competition of the season when Steve pipped Helen to win Section B. So Steve Lord won the Konica Rose Bowl and joins the A section next season while Helen Lord won the Marchant Shield for best B Section Creative. Steve and Helen were unable to attend the meeting.

Finally the Jack Vorster Trophy was awarded. This is voted on in secret by club members - for the person we think has contributed the most to the club over the season. This year the vote was over-whelmingly in favour of one man - David Whitton - who has done so much to raise the profile of the club through a series of excellent exhibitions and who has got us all trained to keep him supplied with prints for them! Thank you, David - this was a very-well deserved award and a very popular presentation.

~ Helen Jones