Report - Annual General Meeting, 08 Jun 2020

Report on the 2020 Annual General Meeting of Dorchester Camera Club
We held our Annual General Meeting by Zoom video conference on 8 June 2020 and there was a great turn out with about 50 members logged in - thank you to everyone who took part.

Zoom allowed us to register the names of attendees and made short work of voting.

The AGM reports were available to be read in advance; each item was discussed, virtual hands were raised and committee members answered questions sent via the chat facility. Voting on AGM resolutions was conducted electronically using Zoom polling facilities (with duplicate polls for couples).

The meeting agreed to automatically renew all memberships in September with no fee until either we returned to physical meetings or until the committee met to review the situation in the autumn when we hope will know more about the long-term implications of Covid19. Even so, all members present at our AGM said they would be happy to pay their subs as normal.

There were no proposals for formal discussion and the new committee was approved. There was just one committee change: Jane Tearle has stood down as Publicity Secretary and her duties will now be taken up within the remaining committee. Thank you Jane.

The evening ended with a long-overdue catch-up chat.

We usually finish with the presentation of Trophies by our Club President, John Tilsley, but this will now take place at the earliest opportunity. In the meantime (for the record), the Portman Trophy for Nature (Section A) will be awarded to Steve Broadhurst; the Parsons Cup for Nature (Section B) will be awarded to Janine Scola; the President's Trophy for Monochrome (Section A) will be awarded to Val Brierley and the Glass Tankard for Monochrome (Section B) will be awarded to John Simpson. The Konica Rose Bowl for best overall in Section B will be awarded to Peter Yendell. Well done all!

The creative competition had to be cancelled this season so the Rossiter Trophy and Marchant Shield for Creative work were not awarded. The Jack Vorster Trophy will be decided before the end of the season.